Top Trending News

ICC World Cup winners to get richer by $4 million

DUBAI: An overall $10 million pot has been announced for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India, with the winners set to receive $4 million.

The International Cricket Council announced on Friday that the tournament’s runners-up will get richer by $2 million.

The World Cup begins on October 5 and concludes with the final on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

All 10 teams will play each other once in a round-robin format in the Group Stage, with the top four in the points table progressing to the semi-finals.

- Advertisement -

There’s prize money up for grabs for winning group stage games as well, with teams getting $40,000 for every victory. At the end of the group stage, teams that fail to reach the knockouts will each get $100,000. The losing semi-finalists will each pocket $800,000.

The prize money also sets the precedent for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025, with ICC announcing equal sums for both men’s and women’s events during the annual conference held in Durban in July 2023.

A total of 10 teams will be vying for the coveted World Cup trophy in the 13th edition of the marquee event. India qualified by virtue of being hosts while New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan and South Africa progressed from the Super League.

Sri Lanka and the Netherlands had to grind it out in the qualifier to progress to the World Cup.

The biggest men’s event of the cricket calendar will span 48 matches across 10 venues, commencing on October 5 with the rematch of the final of the previous edition between defending champions England and New Zealand.

Before the start of the World Cup, each team will play two warm-up matches to get in the groove for the 46-day-long tournament.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.